• Lorem ipsum
  • Dolor sit a met
  Tips, use query like this to get relevance result: "artist - song title"

Eagles Of Death Metal name new covers album after an insult by Axl Rose

Posted on August 18, 2017 by Tito
94 out of 100 based on 931 user ratings
Loading ...

Eagles Of Death Metal have announced the release of a brand-new covers album, featuring a title coined by Axl Rose during an onstage tirade.

As it stands, it’s been over three years since Eagles Of Death Metal’s latest release, Zipper Down. However, after a rather rough few years, the band are making their return with a brand new album of covers, Pigeons Of Shit Metal.

A vinyl exclusive, this limited edition album features artwork designed by drummer (and Queens Of The Stone Age frontman) Josh Homme, and features covers by the likes of AC/DC, Ramones, Pixies, The Distillers, and of course, Queens Of The Stone Age.

However, one act that might be harbouring mixed feelings towards receiving the cover treatment is Guns N’ Roses, whose controversial frontman actually gave this new release its title.

Back in November of 2006, the Eagles Of Death Metal were on the touring circuit promoting their Death By Sexy album, when they happened to score a support slot for Guns N’ Roses. Sadly, this planned 15-date trek lasted for only one show after Axl Rose decided to refer to the band as “the Pigeons Of Shit Metal” during an onstage rant.

Unsubstantiated claims by Eagles Of Death Metal frontman Jesse Hughes stated that then-Guns N’ Roses bassist Tommy Stinson was so angry with these remarks that he actually threw his instrument at Axl Rose.

In the years that followed, Jesse Hughes actually attempted to own this dubious moniker, tattooing the phrase on his arm, launching t-shirts with the phrase, and now, naming their new covers album after the incident.


In related Eagles Of Death Metal news, Jesse Hughes attracted controversy earlier this year when he unleashed a series of comments attacking the “pathetic and disgusting” actions of firearms protesters in the United States.

“When the truth don’t line up with your bullshit narrative just hold your breath and stamp your feet and refused to except it,” Hughes wrote in a series of now-deleted Instagram posts. “Then take multiple days off of school playing hooky at the expense of 16 of your classmates blood….!…. it might be funny if it wasn’t so pathetic and disgusting.”

“As the survivor of a mass shooting I can tell you from first-hand experience that all of you protesting and taking days off from school insult the memory of those who were killed and abuse and insult me and every other lover of liberty by your every action.”

“Long Live Rock’n’Roll….. and may everyone of these disgusting vile abusers of the dead live as long as possible so they can have the maximum amount of time to endure their shame….and be Cursed….”

While the rocker later apologised for his comments, he has seemed to stay away from making any large political statements since then.

Check out Eagles Of Death Metal’s ‘I Want You So Hard (The Boy’s Bad News)’:


Pigeons Of Shit Metal tracklist:

Side A
1. “It’s So Easy” by Guns N Roses
2. “Beat on the Brat” by the Ramones
3. “Gouge Away” by the Pixies
4. “So Alive” by Love and Rockets
5. “High Voltage” (medley) by AC/DC

Side B
6. “Go with the Flow” by Queens of the Stone Age
7. “The Hunger” by the Distillers
8. “Abracadabra” by the Steve Miller Band
9. “Gonna Leave You” by Queens of the Stone Age
10. “Long Slow Goodbye” by Queens of the Stone Age